BAFTA Awards: The results are in…


Last night’s Bafta’s were yet again a star studded affair in London. Posted below are the results. Boyhood, Grand Budapest Hotel and Birdman are well represented here, as well as The Lego Movie getting a nod, though it was snubbed at the Oscars. Whiplash has also received some well deserved recognition. It has been a great year for films, I think. Read on for the full award winners.

Best film

Winner: Boyhood

Outstanding British film

Winner: The Theory of Everything – James Marsh, Tim Bevan, Eric Fellner, Lisa Bruce, Anthony McCarten

Outstanding debut by a British writer, director or producer

Winner: Stephen Beresford (writer), David Livingstone (producer) – Pride

Film not in the English language

Winner: Ida – Pawel Pawlikowski, Eric Abraham, Piotr Dzieciol, Ewa Puszczynska


Winner: Citizenfour – Laura Poitras

Animated film

Winner: The Lego Movie – Phil Lord, Christopher Miller


Winner: Boyhood – Richard Linklater

Original screenplay

Winner: The Grand Budapest Hotel – Wes Anderson

Adapted screenplay

Winner: The Theory of Everything – Anthony McCarten

Leading actor

Winner: Eddie Redmayne – The Theory of Everything

Leading actress

Winner: Julianne Moore – Still Alice

Supporting actor

Winner: J.K. Simmons – Whiplash

Supporting actress

Winner: Patricia Arquette – Boyhood

Original music

Winner: The Grand Budapest Hotel – Alexandre Desplat


Winner: Birdman – Emmanuel Lubezki


Winner: Whiplash – Tom Cross

Production design

Winner: The Grand Budapest Hotel – Adam Stockhausen, Anna Pinnock

Costume design

Winner: The Grand Budapest Hotel – Milena Canonero

Makeup and hair

Winner: The Grand Budapest Hotel – Frances Hannon


Winner: Whiplash – Thomas Curley, Ben Wilkins, Craig Mann

Special visual effects

Winner: Interstellar – Paul Franklin, Scott Fisher, Andrew Lockley

British short animation

Winner: The Bigger Picture – Chris Hees, Daisy Jacobs, Jennifer Majka

British short film

Winner: Boogaloo and Graham – Brian J. Falconer, Michael Lennox, Ronan Blaney

The EE Rising Star Award (voted for by the public)

Winner: Jack O’Connell

BAFTA Fellowship

Mike Leigh


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.